Incoming Tour Operator Provence French Riviera France-Day Tour Shore Cruise Méditerrannean sea - Incoming Travel Agency Provence French Riviera - DMC Travel Agency - Inbound Tour Operator

Chargement...

* Prix d'un appel local
+33 (0)4 86 68 55 86
Professional website for agencies and tour operators

Valensole – Lavender in Provence from May to August

village-valensole-champ-de-lavande-500x3331


The Valensole Plateau
A mild winter and a dry and hot summer (with more than 300 days of sunshine per year!), the commune of Valensole is the ideal place to enjoy a nearby sunny mountain and lakes with emerald green surroundings and many water sports. The landscapes, the smells, the colours, and a rich heritage make Valensole and its plateau a real holiday destination from March to October. The diversity of the landscapes also allows the practice of many sports all year round! Its 800 km2 plateau is mainly devoted to the cultivation of lavender and cereals. It has different aspects depending on the season: the snow-covered peaks of the Alps and the almond trees in bloom in March give way in July to multiple blues of lavender alternating with the gold of wheat. In November, the ochre of the ploughed land contrasts with the purity of the winter blue sky.

 

fontaine-valensole

A little history
In the 19th century, many families were already growing almond trees on the Valensole Plateau. The Valensole Plateau was entirely planted with almond trees and several varieties could be found in the same field. The exploitation of almonds was rather difficult because the picking was done by hand until the 50s when new techniques appeared on the National Almond Day in 1955. Imagine for a moment that the hills of honey, olives and almonds appear on the plateau, on the edge like watchers, the black almond trees, the expanses of lavender, lavandin, and this inland sea of durum wheat. That’s the Valensole plateau!

 

epoque-valensole

Lavender
The Valensole plateau is today one of the most important places for lavender cultivation. The Romans perfumed their baths and their lavender clothes and put sachets of lavender in their cupboards while making vows of love. Established in France by the Phocéens, it found its land of predilection in Provence thanks to the climate supporting its productivity. The crop has now developed well and in the 1920s we saw the appearance of lavandin whose yield is higher and its production of essence up to ten times higher than that of traditional lavender. And before we forget, let’s note the 300 days of sunshine a year… it’s tempting don’t you think?

 

RŽcolte de Lavande

Air activities and leisure
The Valensole region has many assets: air quality, infrequent rainfall thanks to 300 days of sunshine per year. Moreover, the diversity of the landscapes attracts more and more amateurs of aerial activities. In balloons, microlights, gliders, parachutes and others, the view of the sky from our environment is worth a look! Air quality is very important!

 


Autres villages

Martigues est une ville fleurie aux abords de la Camargue, posée…

 Discover the doors of Estaque in Sausset-les-Pins, this part of…

Richerenches From mid-November to mid-march the most important truffle market…

In the heart of the Maures Forest which it is…

Between sea and mountain, Paillons, the town is home to…

Valensole – Lavandes en Provence de Mai à Aout
Incoming Tour Operator Provence French Riviera France-Day Tour Shore Cruise Méditerrannean sea - Incoming Travel Agency Provence French Riviera - DMC Travel Agency - Inbound Tour Operator

Chargement...

* Prix d'un appel local
+33 (0)4 86 68 55 86
France Perfect Experience
Site professionnel pour agences et tour operator

Valensole – Lavandes en Provence de Mai à Aout

village-valensole-champ-de-lavande-500x3331


Le Plateau de Valensole

Un hiver doux et un été sec et chaud (avec plus de 300 jours de soleil par an!), la commune de Valensole est l’endroit idéal pour profiter d’une montagne proche et ensoleillée et de lacs aux environs couleur vert émeraude aux multiples activités nautiques. Les paysages, les odeurs, les couleurs, et un patrimoine riche font de Valensole et son plateau, une véritable destination de vacances de mars à octobre. La diversité des paysages permet d’ailleurs la pratique de nombreux sports toute l’année ! Son plateau de 800 km2 est essentiellement consacré à la culture de la lavande et des céréales. Il revêt différents aspects selon les saisons : les cimes enneigées des alpes et les amandiers en fleurs en mars laissent place en juillet aux multiples bleus des lavandes ondulant en alternance avec l’or des blés. En novembre, l’ocre des terres labourées tranche sur la pureté du ciel bleu d’hiver.

fontaine-valensole

Un peu d’histoire

Au XIXème siècle, de nombreuses familles cultivaient déjà les amandiers sur le Plateau de Valensole Le plateau de Valensole était entièrement planté en amandiers et on pouvait d’ailleurs retrouver plusieurs variétés dans un même champ. L’exploitation des amandes était assez difficile car le ramassage se faisait à la main jusque dans les années 50 où de nouvelles techniques firent leur apparition lors de la Journée Nationale de l’Amande en 1955. Imaginez un instant que surgissent les collines de miel, d’olives et d’amandes avec sur le plateau, en bordure tels des guetteurs, les amandiers noirs, les étendues de lavande, lavandin, et cette mer intérieure de blé dur. C’est ça, le plateau de Valensole !

epoque-valensole

La lavande

Le plateau de Valensole est aujourd’hui l’un des lieux les plus importants en ce qui concerne la culture de la lavande. Les romains parfumaient leurs bains et leurs vêtements de lavande et mettaient d’ailleurs des sachets de lavande dans leurs armoires en faisant des voeux d’amour. Implantée en France par les phocéens, elle a trouvé sa terre de prédilection en Provence grâce au climat favorisant sa productivité. La culture s’est aujourd’hui bien développée et on a vu apparaitre dans les années 20 le lavandin dont le rendement est plus élevé et sa production d’essence jusque dix fois supérieure à celle de la lavande traditionnelle. Et avant d’oublier, notons les 300 jours de soleil par an … c’est tentant vous ne trouvez pas ?

RŽcolte de Lavande

Les activités et loisirs aériens

La région de Valensole dispose de nombreux atouts : qualité de l’air, précipitations peu fréquentes grâce à 300 jours de soleil par an. De plus, la diversité des paysages attire toujours plus d’amateurs d’activités aériennes. En montgolfière, en ULM, en planeur, parachute et autres, la vue du ciel de notre environnement vaut le coup d’œil ! Un point très important la qualité de l’air !!
Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterEmail this to someonePrint this page

Autres villages

La situation d’ALLAUCH en plein coe…+

Le village est situé à 9 kms de Arl…+

Martigues est une ville fleurie aux…+

Des portes de l’Estaque à Sausset-l…+

De mi-novembre à mi-mars Le plus im…+

En plein coeur de la forêt des Maur…+

Entre mer et montagne, aux sources …+

moncler outlet moncler outlet moncler outlet moncler outlet moncler outlet peuterey outlet peuterey outlet peuterey outlet peuterey outlet peuterey outlet piumini moncler outlet piumini moncler outlet piumini moncler outlet piumini moncler outlet piumini moncler outlet piumini moncler outlet doudoune moncler pas cher doudoune moncler pas cher doudoune moncler pas cher doudoune moncler pas cher doudoune moncler pas cher doudoune moncler pas cher